Concerts

Highlights January to July 2017 include…

Wednesday 11 January, 7.30pm

The Sage, Gateshead
Aronowitz Ensemble
Schubert Adagio and Rondo Concertante, Fauré Piano Quartet No. 2, Brahms Piano Quartet No. 2
More

Saturday 14 January, 8.00pm

Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford
With City of Oxford Orchestra, Stephen Bell (conductor)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23
More

Monday 23 to Wednesday 25 January

CD recording with Elena Urioste at SJE Arts, Oxford

Friday 27 January, 7.00pm

Westminster School, London
With Alison Balsom (trumpet), Peter Moore (trombone)
Honegger Intrada, Hindemith Trumpet Sonata, Schubert Impromptu in G flat, Enescu Légende, Poster/Balsom The Thoughts of Dr May, Brahms (arr. Balsom) Horn Trio

Saturday 28 January, 3.00pm

Family concert with Steven Isserlis (cello)

Monday 30 January to Saturday 18 February
RESIDENCY AT WILTON’S MUSIC HALL, LONDON

Fifteen performances of The Depraved Appetite of Tarrare the Freak, a chamber opera by Tom Poster (composer) and Tobi Poster (lyricist), presented by Wattle & Daub – 7.30pm on Jan 30, 31; Feb 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18

… interspersed with three concerts curated by Tom Poster on themes from the opera:

Thursday 2 February, 7.30pm
FRENCH CONNECTIONS
Mark Simpson (clarinet), Elena Urioste (violin), Sheku Kanneh-Mason (cello), Tom Poster (piano)
Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte, Debussy Première rhapsodie for clarinet and piano, Fauré Piano Trio, Messiaen Quartet for the End of Time

Thursday 9 February, 7.30pm
A COLE PORTER SONGBOOK
Winnie Brückner (vocalist), Ronan Collett (baritone), Tom Poster (piano)
Cole Porter Songs including I’ve Got You Under My Skin, My Heart Belongs to Daddy, Miss Otis Regrets, So in Love, Begin the Beguine and Every Time We Say Goodbye

Thursday 16 February, 7.30pm
LIGHT AND SHADOWS
Tom Poster (piano)
Schubert Four Impromptus D. 899, Schumann Waldszenen, Ravel Ondine from Gaspard de la nuit, Gershwin (arr. Earl Wild, Michael Finnissy and Tom Poster) Songs, Chopin Ballades Nos. 3 and 4

More about the SHOW and the CONCERTS

Saturday 11 February, 7.45pm

Ulster Hall, Belfast
With Ulster Orchestra, Stephen Bell (conductor)
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 2 (Adagio), Addinsell Warsaw Concerto
More

Saturday 18 February, 7.30pm

Lenthall Concerts – Burford School, Oxfordshire
With Carducci Quartet
Brahms Piano Quintet
More

Tuesday 21 February, 7.30pm

Corn Exchange, Cambridge
With Alison Balsom (trumpet), Becky Smith (trombone)
Honegger Intrada, Hindemith Trumpet Sonata, Schubert Impromptu in G flat, Enescu Légende, Poster/Balsom The Thoughts of Dr May, Brahms (arr. Balsom) Horn Trio
More

Thursday 23 February, 7.30pm

Faversham Music Club – Faversham Assembly Rooms
Solo recital
Mozart Adagio in B minor, Janacek Intimate Sketches, Beethoven Sonata Op. 7, Mendelssohn Songs without Words, Ravel Ondine from Gaspard de la nuit, Gershwin (arr. Earl Wild, Michael Finnissy and Tom Poster) Songs, Chopin Ballades Nos. 3 and 4
More

Sunday 26 February, 11.15am

Oxford Coffee Concerts – Holywell Music Room, Oxford
With Elena Urioste (violin)
Grieg Violin Sonatas Nos. 1 and 3, various miniatures

Sunday 19 March, 6.30pm

Norfolk and Norwich Chamber Music – The Chapel, 64 Park Lane, Norwich
Solo recital
Schubert Four Impromptus D. 899, Gershwin (arr. Earl Wild, Michael Finnissy and Tom Poster) Songs, Chopin Ballades Nos. 3 and 4
More

UK tour with Laura van der Heijden (cello)

Saturday 25 March, 7.30pm – Sevenoaks Music Club
Sunday 26 March, 3.00pm – Bournemouth Chamber Music Society
Monday 27 March, 7.30pm – Huddersfield Music Society
Sunday 2 April, 2.00pm – Saffron Hall, Saffron Walden
Saturday 8 April, 7.45pm – Haywards Heath Music Society
Debussy Cello Sonata, Schumann Three Romances, Martinu Variations on a Theme by Rossini, Graham Fitkin L, Fauré Cello Sonata No. 2

Wednesday 12 April

Easter at King’s – King’s College Chapel, Cambridge
With Mark Simpson (clarinet), Elena Urioste (violin), Guy Johnston (cello)
Messiaen Quartet for the End of Time

Friday 21 and Saturday 22 April

Concerts in Seville, Spain
Programmes include Mozart Piano Concertos Nos. 8 and 12

Wednesday 17 May

Newbury Spring Festival
Aronowitz Ensemble
Vaughan Williams Piano Quintet, Schubert ‘Trout’ Quintet

Friday 19 and Saturday 20 May

Schloss Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
With Hugo Ticciati (violin), Matthew Barley (cello), Christoffer Sundqvist (clarinet)

Friday 26 to Sunday 28 May

Queille Festival – Château de Queille, Ariège, France

Wednesday 7 to Wednesday 14 June

Music in a French Village – Cucugnan, France

Friday 23 June

Lewes Chamber Music Festival

Saturday 24 June

Marylebone Chamber Music Festival

Sunday 25 June

Beaminster Festival
Solo recital

Friday 30 June

The Flavel, Dartmouth
With Guy Johnston (cello)

Friday 14 to Sunday 16 July

Roman River Festival – four concerts curated by Tom Poster, recorded for future broadcast on BBC Radio 3
With Elena Urioste (violin), Navarra Quartet

Sunday 23 July

Wigmore Hall, London
With Elena Urioste, Tai Murray (violin), Jennifer Stumm (viola), Laura van der Heijden (cello)

Monday 24 July

Cambridge Summer Music Festival
With Martinu String Quartet

Tuesday 25 to Saturday 29 July

Aberystwyth Musicfest

Comments Off