Concerts

Highlights December 2017 to May 2018 include…

Saturday 9 December 2017, 7.30pm

Kings Place, London
With Sophie Bevan (soprano), Aurora Orchestra, Nicholas Collon (conductor), Samuel West (readings)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 8 ‘Lützow’, Mozart Ch’io mi scordi di te
More

Friday 29 December

Schloss Elmau, Bavaria, Germany
With Elena Urioste (violin)
Clara Schumann Three Romances, Messiaen Theme et variations, Amy Beach Romance, Strauss Violin Sonata

Tuesday 2 to Sunday 14 January 2018

Ilumina Festival – São Paulo and environs, Brazil
Ravel La valse (solo version), Schubert Winterreise (with Matthew Rose), chamber works by Ravel, Bartok, Schumann, Stockhausen, Nina Simone, Chausson and Pärt
More

RECITAL TOUR OF SCOTLAND

Thursday 18 January, 7.30pm – Annan Academy, Annan
Friday 19 January, 7.30pm – Cochran Hall, Kirkcudbright
Saturday 20 January, 7.30pm – Holywood Village Hall, Dumfries
Sunday 21 January, 3.30pm – Buccleuch & Queensberry Arms, Thornhill
Solo recitals (two programmes)

18/20 Jan: Schubert Four Impromptus D. 899, Janacek Intimate Sketches, Chopin Ballade No. 3, Schumann Waldszenen, Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte, Ravel La valse
19/21 Jan: Mozart Adagio K. 540, Beethoven Sonata Op. 7, Mendelssohn Songs without Words, Ravel Ondine (from Gaspard de la nuit), Gershwin (arr. Earl Wild, Michael Finnissy and Tom Poster) Songs, Chopin Ballade No. 4
More

Monday 22 January, 1.00pm

BBC Lunchtime Concert – Perth Concert Hall, Perth
With Van Kuijk Quartet
Franck Piano Quintet
More

Monday 29 January

Abbey Road Studios, London
With London Symphony Orchestra, Cliff Eidelman (conductor), Michael McHale (piano)
Recording of Cliff Eidelman’s Symphony for Two Pianos and Orchestra

Thursday 1 February, 1.00pm

Victoria and Albert Museum, London
With Matthew Rose (bass)
Schubert Winterreise
More

Sunday 11 February, 4.00pm

Linton Chamber Music – First Unitarian Church, Cincinnati, USA
With Elena Urioste (violin)
Kreisler Miniatures, Clara Schumann Three Romances, Dvorak Violin Sonata, Grieg Violin Sonata No. 2, Amy Beach Romance, Gershwin (arr. Heifetz) Selections from Porgy and Bess
More

Tuesday 20 February, 7.30pm

Kensington and Chelsea Music Society – Leighton House, London
With Amy Harman (bassoon)
Saint-Saens Bassoon Sonata, Schubert Arpeggione Sonata, Mozart (arr. Farrington) Bassoon Sonata K. 292, Alma Mahler Songs, Dutilleux Sarabande et Cortège
More

Thursday 22 February, 8.00pm

Kettle’s Yard, Cambridge
With Heath Quartet
Schumann Piano Quintet
More

Friday 23 February, 7.30pm

Sheriff Centre, West Hampstead, London
With Heath Quartet
Schumann Piano Quintet

MOZART FESTIVAL IN CADIZ

Cadiz, Spain
Thursday 1 March – with Elena Urioste (violin)
Mozart Violin Sonata K. 379, Amy Beach Romance, Falla (arr. Kochanski) Suite Populaire Espagnole, Strauss Violin Sonata
Saturday 3 March – with Elena Urioste, Mathilde Milwidsky (violin), Adam Newman (viola), Marie Macleod (cello), Matthew Coman (double bass)
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 12, Schubert Trout’ Quintet
Sunday 4 March – with Elena Urioste, Mathilde Milwidsky (violin), Adam Newman (viola), Marie Macleod (cello), Matthew Coman (double bass)
Mozart Adagio K. 540, Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’, Schumann Piano Quintet

Friday 9 March

Weesp, Netherlands
Poster-Johnston Trio
Programme tbc

Sunday 11 March, 7.30pm

Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester
Aronowitz Ensemble with RNCM students
Fauré Piano Quartet No. 1, Chausson Chanson perpetuelle
More

Monday 12 to Wednesday 14 March

The Stoller Hall, Manchester
CD recording with Guy Johnston – ‘Themes and Variations’

Friday 16 March, 7.30pm

Royal Festival Hall, London
With Philharmonia Orchestra, Brian Wright (conductor)
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’
More

Thursday 22 March, 1.00pm

Leicester Lunchtime Concerts – New Walk Museum and Art Gallery, Leicester
Aronowitz Ensemble
Brahms Piano Quartet No. 2
More

Saturday 24 March, 7.30pm

Weston Music Society – Holy Trinity Church, Weston
With Guy Johnston (cello)
Ethel Smyth Cello Sonata, Grieg Cello Sonata, Rachmaninov Cello Sonata
More

WEESP CHAMBER MUSIC FESTIVAL

Van Houtenkerk, Weesp, Netherlands
Thursday 12 April, 8.00pm – Poster-Johnston Trio
Schubert Piano Trio No. 1
Friday 13 April, 7.30pm – with Karin Strobos (mezzo), Magnus Johnston (violin), Simone van der Giessen (viola), Guy Johnston (cello), Luis Cabrera (double bass)
Brahms Lieder, Schubert ‘Trout’ Quintet
Friday 13 April, 10.15pm – with Matthew Rose (bass)
Schubert Winterreise
Saturday 14 April, 8.00pm – with Birthe Blom (violin)
Schubert Violin Sonatina No. 1, Schubert Four Impromptus D. 899
Sunday 15 April, 4.00pm – with Guy Johnston (cello)
Schubert Arpeggione Sonata
More

BRITTEN SINFONIA AT LUNCH TOUR

Tuesday 17 April, 1.00pm – West Road Concert Hall, Cambridge
Wednesday 18 April, 1.00pm – Wigmore Hall, London
Friday 20 April, 1.00pm – St Andrew’s Hall, Norwich

With Thomas Gould (violin), Clare Finnimore (viola), Caroline Dearnley (cello)
Caroline Shaw New work (world premiere), Brahms Piano Quartet No. 1
More

Thursday 3 May, 7.30pm

Carnegie Hall, New York, USA
With Elena Urioste (violin), Gabriel Cabezas (cello), Xavier Foley (double bass)
Schumann Fünf Stücke im Volkston, Messiaen Theme et variations, Amy Beach Romance, Glière Intermezzo and Tarantella, Ravel Piano Trio
More

SCHUBERTIADE IN EVOSGES

John Whibley Holidays with Music – Evosges, France
Saturday 5 May, evening – with Navarra Quartet, Clare Presland (mezzo)
Schubert Adagio and Rondo Concertante, Fauré La Bonne Chanson
Sunday 6 May, morning – with members of the Navarra Quartet, Clare Presland (mezzo)
Brahms Two Songs for mezzo, viola and piano, Schubert Piano Trio No. 1
Sunday 6 May, evening – with Patrick Messina (clarinet), Navarra Quartet, Thierry Rogan (double bass)
Schumann Fantasiestücke for clarinet and piano, Schubert Four Impromptus D.899, Schubert ‘Trout’ Quintet
More

Sunday 13 May, 3.00pm

De Montfort Hall, Leicester
With Marina Chiche (violin), Guy Johnston (cello), Bardi Symphony Orchestra, Claus Efland (conductor)
Beethoven Triple Concerto
More

Monday 14 May

Newbury Festival – Highclere Castle
With Guy Johnston (cello)
Ethel Smyth Cello Sonata, Grieg Cello Sonata, Rachmaninov Cello Sonata

Tuesday 29 May

BBC Lunchtime Concert – Hay Festival
Solo recital
Mendelssohn Songs without Words; Nocturnes by Maria Szymanowska, Fanny Mendelssohn and Clara Schumann; Schumann Waldszenen

Comments Off